Friday, August 21, 2009

August 20th Game Summary

Can you say....5-0? That's right...the Big Johnson's are still kicking ass, and I for one give a lot of the credit to the new shirts and being our own sponsors this year. Of course having great players helps a lot, too!

Last night we played Das Boot, most likely named after the movie Beerfest, and they were a tough team. One of their guys kicked a home run about every time he kicked. Calling them "stiff competition" might just be an understatement!

Anyway, we got got off to a great start the first 2 innings leading by 7 or 8 runs, but then they rallied back a couple innings later and closed the gap to 4. At that point it was 11-7 I think. The next inning they tied things up, 11-11 so we had to go an extra inning. We scored 4 and quickly shut 'em down after that getting us a 15-11 win. Wheeeew....that was close - probably closer than it sounds!

The night wasn't all smiles, though. Mark dislocated his shoulder while making an incredible dive for a fly ball out in left field. Fortunately we had umps from the Sanford Wellness team who had ice packs on-hand and helped stabilize his shoulder until we could get him to the ER. The report I got this morning is that they were able to get everything back in place and don't believe there is any long-term damage. He'll be wearing a sling for a few days until a follow-up appointment.

If any of you have updates on Mark's condition, please post them as we're all concerned and wish him a speedy, pain-free recovery!

That about wraps it up...next week we play Where's My Pitches At? I'll be out of town, so I've asked Craig to write next week's summary and send it to me. I think he may have been a little drunk when we talked about it, so someone remind him please....

Good luck next week - DOMINATE!

Monday, August 17, 2009

August 13th Game Summary

UNDEFEATED. Yup - you read right The Johnson's stay undefeated for another week.

Better When Wet played a great game and both teams had a good time. Most everyone stayed for Craig's birthday cookout afterwards...in fact several of us where there until 11:00 or so. I wasn't the last one to leave, so who knows when the hardcore folks finally called it quits.

Hmm....sittin' here scratchin' my head trying to remember some more details, but honestly it's been 4 days and the weekend was LONG...if you know what I mean ;-) I'll try to write a better post after we win this week.

Until then, see you all Thursday evening at 6:15 on field 1. Looks like we're playing (beating) Das Boot, and umping the Bustin' Ballers and Sanford at 7:15.

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Do or Die Time

Alright Johnson's - it's time to get serious. Here's the current standings...

  1. The Big Johnsons 3-0-0
  2. Better When Wet 3-0-0
  3. Sanford Wellness 2-1-0
  4. Das Boot 2-1-0
  5. Playground Pirates 1-2-0
  6. Bust'n Ballers 0-2-0
  7. Where's My Pitch at 0-2-0
  8. Longfellow Leopards 0-3-0
It's us or them tonight. Someone goes home with the prize, the other with heartbreak. I don't know about the rest of you...but I want the "W" tonight.

Who's with me? Who's gonna DOMINATE?

Friday, August 7, 2009

August 6th Game Summary

Rain. Yup - lots 'o rain. But kickball is a hardcore sport, so we played anyway. And a few Johnson's mentioned that they actually prefer to be wet. Hmmmm....

Contrary to the last post, we didn't play the Longfellow Leopards...we played a rookie team called Tuck & Roll. "Rookie" is really the key term here....actually "VERY ROOKIE" might be a more accurate description. They started with 8 girls and 2 guys but quickly lost one of the girls to an injury from last week's game...so they were seriously out-manned (literally) and outgunned. I think the score ended-up being 22-0 after 3 innings. They took is pretty well and still had fun, but most all the Johnson's thought it didn't feel like a "real" win. Except for the one who shall remain nameless...and I think one of the umps commented that he would kick a ball at a girl in a wheelchair :-) Merciless I think is the key takeaway message there.

Thanks to Better When Wet (who seemed to actually be better wet) for umping! They're always a lot of fun - even more so when they're wet I think.

Let's home it's not raining next week because we're playing them and they're a good team when they're NOT wet. 7:15, field 1 - see you there. Oh, and it looks like we ump the 6:15 game. I think I heard that was taken care of (Scott & Dylan maybe?), but I can't say for sure. Can anyone clarify?

See you all next week.