Sunday, September 18, 2011

2011 Tournament & Season Summary

It's hard to believe another kickball season has come and gone so quickly - where has the summer gone anyway?

In traditional tournament fashion, the weather was cold, cloudy and windy - all the more reason to drink more of the official Big Johnsons' tournament drink - mudslides! Thanks to Lori for providing a big jug again this year. Unlike past tournaments, we actually won our first game so we had a couple breaks throughout the day. We had a tough time getting our butts moving, but since the other team was only playing with 3 guys and 6 girls, we were able to play a half-assed game and still win!

We were more awake for the rest of the games, so they all went pretty well. We didn't have any problem winning the 2nd game, but the third game was against the league's undefeated team - We Got the Runs...or "the Runs" for short. The team is hard core serious. They beat all the other teams this season by at least 10 runs. We kept it 1-1 for 5 innings before giving them 2 runs near the end, for a final of 3-1. We considered that a victory since they weren't even drinking!

Our fourth game went good...still playing smart and consistent. That win put us into the championship against...you guessed it...the Runs. We got ahead of them early on about 7-2. They were worried for the first time all season. We battled back and forth until the last inning when we made a couple mistakes that gave them a bunch of runs. And just like that...the season was over. We ended-up second...which is generally always the case. You know the saying...always the bridesmaid, but never the bride. Yup, that's us!

Thanks for another great season everyone! If points were given for having the most fun, we'd have beaten the Runs by 100! See you all next season!



It's hard to believe another kickball season has come and gone so quickly - where has the summer gone anyway?

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

2010 Tournament Summary

The Big Johnsons saw their share of ups & downs during the 2010 season. The most notable "down" was definitely all the rain. At least 2 out of the 8 games were rained-out, and 1 of the make-up games was rained-out. Of the remaining games that weren't rained-out, 1 or 2 of those we didn't get to play because the team we were supposed to play didn't show-up. So needless to say, we played a lot less kickball than previous seasons.

The tournament was Saturday October 16th. Keeping with the season's theme, the team we were supposed to play the first game was a no-show. Apparently this turned-out to be a bad thing because all the time that would have been spent playing was spent drinking...so our playing ability took a big digger. The result was 2 losing the next 2 games which quickly ended the quirky 2010 season.

There's nothing left to do now but laugh about the weird season and hope that the 2011 season will go a lot better - and definitely have fewer rained-out games! See you all next season!






Monday, September 21, 2009

2009 Tournament Results

Sunshine, good times, laughs, blond wigs and mudslides. All good words to sum-up this year's tournament.

It was a beautiful 80-degree sunny day for kickball! Awesome - how many of us can say we've gotten a sunburn in mid-September before? How about, how many of us can say they have drank mudslides and beer at 9:00am before?

So how'd we do? Runner-up. Again. One of these years we're gonna have to break the runner-up curse!

Here's some pix - enjoy. Thanks for another great season Johnson's!












Friday, September 18, 2009

Tourney Time!

Who's thinking about the tournament already? Nothing better than an ice cold beer at 9:o0 on a gorgeous Saturday morning!

C'mon - Who's with me?

Say it with me one last time this season...

Who's gonna DOMINATE the tournament!!!!

Thursday, September 10, 2009

September 10th Game Summary

One word - DOMINATION. Just kidding. the more appropriate "one word" would be FORFEIT.

The Playground Pirates didn't have enough players, so they threw in the towel from the get-go. So we gave 'em a couple of our weaker players (hee hee) and played for fun. Good thing they forfeited...'cause I think they beat us!

Anyway - we finished the season with only one loss, so that earns us a bye in the first round of the tournament.

Here's some pix from tonight's game...











See you all on the 19th at 9:00am sharp! Remember to bring your game with you!

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

September 3rd Game Summary

They're back....they're bad...and they're f'n MAD....

The BJs showed no mercy blowing past the Bustin' Ballers 15-4 after 5 innings. That puts us squarely in first place in our division. Here's the most recent standings...
  1. The Big Johnsons 6-1-0
  2. Das Boot 5-2-0
  3. Sanford Wellness 5-2-0
  4. Better When Wet 5-2-0
  5. Where's My Pitch at 3-3-0
  6. Bust'n Ballers 1-5-0
  7. Playground Pirates 1-6-0 (not in tournament)
  8. Longfellow Leopards 1-6-0 (not in tournament)
Yup - that's us at the top. We like being on top ;-)

This week we play the Playground Pirates again. We beat 'em once...we can beat 'em again! Plus its our last game before the tournament...so its a must-win!

See ya'll at 6:15 on field #2. Say it with me one more time.....1,2,3 -- D-O-M-I-N-A-T-E!!


Wednesday, September 2, 2009

August 27th Game Summay

Well....I guess the look on Craig's face pretty much says it all.

All good things must come to an end, and it seems the BJs perfect season has done so.

Unfortunately I wasn't at the game, so details are spotty....but apparently we lost by one run in the bottom of the final inning and the score was 13-12 or something like that.

Highlights I know about were that Cap'n Scott had a nice double and threw someone out at home. Awesome! If anyone else has any highlights they'd like to share, feel free!

Well - we've lost before...it's no biggie - we'll pick ourselves up, brush ourselves off and DOMINATE the next game!

Speaking of the next game...it's tomorrow on Field #1 at 6:15. Looks like we're playing the Bustin Ballers. I hope they're ready, 'cause I'm guessing the BJs are gonna be thirsty for the taste of victory....and beer of course!

Here's a couple other pix for your pleasure....see you all tomorrow!